TNEstudy Transnational education (TNE) · cross-border programme delivery
Start an enquiry

Cross-jurisdiction

Intake scale and planned numbers: why published calibres are not comparable across jurisdictions

Published intake and plan figures are not collected on a common basis across the five host jurisdictions; Mainland China's supervision platform publishes admission prospectus records while the other registers in this dataset do not surface intake as a comparable field, so this site records it as not published rather than estimating.

Published 2026-07-28 Also published in:简体中文

A recurring question from education-group BD leads is simple to ask and unsafe to answer from a single source: “how big is the intake, and what are the planned numbers?” The published record holds pieces of an answer, but the pieces are cut to different patterns in each jurisdiction. Comparing them as if they were one metric produces confident numbers that mean nothing. This briefing explains why, drawn from official regulator and instrument texts verified on 2026-07-28. This site reads those published rules; it does not represent any regulator’s position and gives no legal advice.

The trap is that the word “intake” feels like a single, countable thing. In reality it is a label pasted onto several different measurements, each collected for a different purpose by a different authority. A prospectus figure exists to inform applicants; a register entry exists to record authorisation; neither was designed for a BD lead to benchmark one market against another. Treating them as commensurate is the kind of error that looks rigorous — because it uses real numbers — while quietly comparing unlike objects.

What each jurisdiction publishes

The regimes were built to record authorisation and status, not to publish a uniform intake statistic.

  1. Mainland China — the national supervision platform publishes admission prospectus records (招生简章) among other items; a prospectus may state a planned intake for an approved programme, but this dataset does not republish those figures as a comparable cross-jurisdiction series.
  2. Hong Kong — the non-local course register records the course’s registration or exemption status; intake scale is not a field this dataset surfaces.
  3. Singapore — the private education institution register records the institution and its external degree courses; intake is not a field this dataset surfaces.
  4. Malaysia — the branch campus approval and the Malaysian Qualifications Register record programmes and accreditation; intake is not a field this dataset surfaces.
  5. UAE — the emirate permit and the federal National Register record campus operation and award recognition; intake is not a field this dataset surfaces.

Why the figures are not comparable

Even where a planned number appears, the definitions diverge.

  1. Planned versus actual — a prospectus states an intention; the enrolled number is a result. The two are different measurements.
  2. Domestic versus international — some published plans cover all students, others only a subset; the boundary is not stated uniformly.
  3. Programme versus institution — a number may attach to one programme or to a whole campus, and the level is not consistent.
  4. Year of reference — collection years differ, and a figure from one cycle is not comparable to another.
  5. Publication status — where the official source does not state a comparable figure, this dataset records it as not published rather than estimating.

The risk of a flat comparison

A BD lead who lines up “intake” figures from two markets and picks the larger one is comparing unlike objects.

  1. A Mainland China prospectus figure describes a planned intake under an approved programme with a Chinese partner.
  2. A figure assembled from another market’s register would describe a different object, if it appeared at all.
  3. Treating them as one scale misstates capacity, market size, and competitive position at once.

The error is tempting because the word “intake” looks the same in both files. The underlying measurement is not.

What this site will and will not do

  1. This site will point to where a jurisdiction publishes a relevant record (for example the prospectus records on the Mainland China platform).
  2. This site will not extract a figure from one market and present it as comparable to another.
  3. Where the official source does not state a comparable intake field, this site records it as not published.
  4. This site will not estimate enrolment, market size, or capacity from partial signals.

How to plan capacity instead

  1. Use the official register named for the market to find any prospectus or plan the authority publishes.
  2. Read the figure against its own definition — planned or actual, domestic or international, programme or campus.
  3. Confirm the current planned numbers with the regulator or a licensed adviser, because publication, where it exists, is not real-time.
  4. Build the business case on the jurisdiction’s own evidence, not on a cross-jurisdiction average.
  5. For unresolved intake questions, the compliance coordination team can be engaged and will respond within one business day.

The same discipline applies to any market-size claim built on intake data. A figure assembled by subtracting one market’s published plan from another’s, or by annualising a partial record, is an estimate dressed as a fact. This site will not produce such a number, because no official source in the dataset states a comparable cross-jurisdiction intake series. For a genuine capacity or market study, commission the work from the regulator’s published records per market, or engage a licensed adviser who can cite the primary source for each figure used.

A note on tuition and fees

Intake is not the only number BD leads ask for. Tuition and fee amounts are not published in this dataset; confirm them with the regulator or a licensed adviser. This site applies the same discipline to all unverified figures: if the official source does not state it, the site does not state it.

What this briefing does and does not say

This briefing is compiled from official regulator and instrument texts verified on the date shown in the jurisdiction dataset. It is not legal advice and does not represent any regulator. For case-specific positions, confirm with the regulator or a licensed adviser.

Key takeaways

  1. Intake and plan figures are published on different bases, and some jurisdictions in this dataset do not surface them at all.
  2. Planned, actual, domestic, international, programme-level, and campus-level numbers are not defined consistently across markets.
  3. Comparing “intake” across jurisdictions compares unlike objects and misstates capacity.
  4. This site records intake as not published where the official source does not state a comparable figure, and will not estimate it.
  5. Confirm current planned numbers with the regulator or a licensed adviser; treat any figure as time-bound and market-specific.

Sources

  1. Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China — Information Platform for Supervision of Chinese-Foreign Cooperation in Running Schools (https://www.crs.jsj.edu.cn/)
  2. Hong Kong Education Bureau, Non-local Courses Registry — Non-local Higher and Professional Education (Regulation) Ordinance (Cap. 493) (https://www.elegislation.gov.hk/hk/cap493)
  3. SkillsFuture Singapore — Private Education Act 2009 and register of private education institutions (https://www.ssg.gov.sg/resources/pei/)
  4. Malaysian Qualifications Agency and Department of Higher Education — Private Higher Educational Institutions Act 1996 (Act 555) (https://mohe.gov.my/en/institutions/phei)
  5. UAE Commission for Academic Accreditation and Knowledge and Human Development Authority — Standards for Institutional Licensure and Program Accreditation 2019 (https://www.moe.gov.ae/En/MediaCenter/News/Pages/accreditation2.aspx)