When a decision-maker asks “how long will this take, what will it cost, and what are our chances,” the instinct is to find a number. Across the five host jurisdictions covered by this site, that number does not exist in official publication. This briefing explains why, and why this site will not estimate it. It is drawn from official regulator and instrument texts and the dataset note verified on 2026-07-28. This site reads those published rules; it does not represent any regulator’s position and gives no legal advice.
Understanding the absence also protects a planning cycle. A project timeline built on an assumed processing duration collapses the moment the real authority moves at a different pace; a budget built on an assumed fee collapses the moment the schedule changes. Planning around the published approval’s validity window, and confirming current processing and fees with the regulator or a licensed adviser when a decision is live, is more robust than anchoring to a figure this site will not invent.
The dataset states the absence plainly
The jurisdiction dataset used by this site carries an explicit note: no processing timelines for approvals, fees, or outcome proportions are stated anywhere in it, because no regulator publishes them. This is not a placeholder awaiting data. It is a reported fact about what the official sources make available. Where a field could not be confirmed from an official source, this site records it as not published rather than guessing.
Reason 1 — No statutory duty to publish them
None of the regimes in this dataset imposes a duty on the authority to publish processing durations, fee schedules, or approval and refusal proportions.
- Mainland China publishes approvals, prospectus records, foreign certificate registration, and evaluation results on the supervision platform, but not processing timelines or outcome proportions.
- Hong Kong publishes the register of non-local courses under Cap. 493, not processing durations.
- Singapore publishes the register of private education institutions and their external degree courses, not outcome proportions.
- Malaysia publishes branch campus approvals and the Malaysian Qualifications Register, not fee schedules.
- The UAE publishes emirate permits and federal CAA licensure, not processing timelines.
Where the statute does not require publication, absence is the default, not an omission this site corrects.
Reason 2 — Publication could be read as a guarantee
A published processing duration can be read by a market as a commitment, even when the authority intends it only as a guide. Authorities that assess each application on its merits tend to avoid creating an expectation they cannot meet for every case. The same logic applies to outcome proportions: publishing an approval-and-refusal ratio risks implying a probability for a future case, which no authority in this dataset does.
Reason 3 — Each case turns on its own facts
The cooperation, course, campus, or programme in question is assessed against specific instruments — for example the Chinese-Foreign Cooperation in Running Schools Regulations, Cap. 493, the Private Education Act 2009, Act 555, or the CAA Standards 2019. The published standards describe what must be met; they do not yield a single timeline or proportion that fits every applicant. This site therefore treats “how long” and “what are our chances” as questions for the regulator or a licensed adviser, not as figures to publish.
Reason 4 — Fee schedules are set and changed administratively
Where fees exist, they are typically set by regulation or administrative schedule and can change. Publishing a figure this site could not confirm from an official source would risk stating a number that is wrong on the day it is read. Tuition and fee amounts are accordingly recorded as not published in this dataset; confirm them with the regulator or a licensed adviser.
Reason 5 — Uniform collection is not evident
Even if an authority tracked internal durations, that internal management information is not the same as a published, comparable statistic. This site will not reconstruct outcome proportions from partial signals, because doing so would present an estimate as if it were an official fact. The discipline is simple: if the official source does not state it, this site does not state it.
What a decision-maker should do instead
- Ask the regulator or a licensed adviser for the current position on processing and fees; treat any answer as time-bound and jurisdiction-specific.
- Use the published register to confirm status, scope, and recognition — the facts this site can stand behind.
- Plan the project around the published approval’s validity window, not around an assumed duration.
- Where a proposal promises a fixed timeline or a guaranteed outcome, treat that promise as commercial wording, not a regulatory commitment.
- For case-specific verification, the compliance coordination team can be engaged and will respond within one business day.
Why this site will not estimate
Estimating a processing duration, a fee, or an outcome proportion would breach the iron rule of this dataset: every figure must be computed or carry a primary source. None of these three figures has a primary source in the official records reviewed. Publishing an estimate would also imply a precision the underlying administration does not support. The honest output is “not published; confirm with the regulator or a licensed adviser.”
What this briefing does and does not say
This briefing is compiled from official regulator and instrument texts and the dataset note verified on the date shown. It is not legal advice and does not represent any regulator. For case-specific positions, confirm with the regulator or a licensed adviser.
Key takeaways
- No regulator in this dataset publishes processing timelines, fee schedules, or approval-and-refusal proportions.
- The absence is reported as a fact in the dataset note, not treated as a gap to estimate.
- Publication would risk being read as a guarantee; authorities assess each case on its merits.
- Fee and tuition amounts are recorded as not published; confirm them with the regulator or a licensed adviser.
- This site states only what the official source states; it will not estimate durations, fees, or outcomes.
Sources
- Jurisdiction dataset note (checked_on 2026-07-28) — records that no regulator publishes processing timelines for approvals, fee schedules, or approval-and-refusal proportions, and that such figures are not stated anywhere in the dataset.
- Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China — Information Platform for Supervision of Chinese-Foreign Cooperation in Running Schools (https://www.crs.jsj.edu.cn/)
- Hong Kong Education Bureau, Non-local Courses Registry — Non-local Higher and Professional Education (Regulation) Ordinance (Cap. 493) (https://www.elegislation.gov.hk/hk/cap493)
- SkillsFuture Singapore — Private Education Act 2009 and register of private education institutions (https://www.ssg.gov.sg/resources/pei/)
- Malaysian Qualifications Agency and Department of Higher Education — Private Higher Educational Institutions Act 1996 (Act 555) (https://mohe.gov.my/en/institutions/phei)
- UAE Commission for Academic Accreditation — Standards for Institutional Licensure and Program Accreditation 2019 (https://www.moe.gov.ae/En/MediaCenter/News/Pages/accreditation2.aspx)